VFW National Commander-in-Chief

Vincent “B.J.” Lawrence

Vincent “B.J.” Lawrence was elected Commander-in-Chief of the Veterans of Foreign Wars of the U.S. on July 25, 2018, at the 119th VFW National Convention in Kansas City, Mo.

B.J. served with the United States Army from 1983 to 1986, earning his VFW eligibility by serving in Korea, where he earned the Korean Defense Service Medal.

Department of Iowa Elected Officers

State Commander: Carol Whitmore

State Senior Vice Commander: Russell Saffell

State Junior Vice Commander: Paul Arnold

State Quartermaster: Jerry Black

State Judge Advocate: Dan White (PDC)

State Surgeon: Roy Shortt

State Chaplain: Ron Leber

Past State Commander: Jacob Gruber (PDC)

Iowa National Council Member: Darrell Blasberg (PDC)

Appointed State Officers

Adjutant: Same as State Quartermaster

Assistant Chaplain: Scott McDonald

Chief of Staff: Don Fisher

Inspector: Travis Holden (PDC)

Historian: Don Fisher

Service Officer (Des Moines): Shane Pankonen

Service Officer (Iowa City): Richard Davis

Program/Committee Chairs

Buddy Poppy Chairman: Jack Lingelbach

Citizenship Education Chairman: Rick Martin

Community Activities Chairman: Rick Martin

I.T. (Computer) Committee: Russell Saffell

Webmaster: Russell Saffell

Department Outreach Chairman: Dennis Abel

Emergency Disaster Chairman: Russell Saffell

Homeless Veterans: Jacob Gruber

Hospital Chairman: Roy Shortt

Iowa Commission of Veterans Affairs: Richard “George” Goebel

Legislative Chairman: Brad Whitmore

Life Membership Chairman: Dennis Abel

Loyalty Day Chairman: Steve Streeter

Membership Chairman: Travis Holden

Membership Recruiter: Richard “George” Goebel

National Home Chairman: Travis Holden

Assistant National Home Chairman: Darrell Blasberg

Patriot’s Pen Chairman: Brad Whitmore

POW/MIA: Todd Jacobus

Public Relations Chairman: Jerry Black

Safety Chairman: Scott McDonald

Scouting Chairman: Stuart Juarez

Student Veterans of America Liaison: Paul Arnold

Sergeant-At-Arms: Jack Lingelbach

Assist Sergeant-at-Arms: Dennis Abel

State Fair Booth: Travis Holden

Assistant State Fair Booth: Robert Forbes

State Photographer: Don Fisher

Teacher Award Chairman: Don Fisher

Veterans Service Chairman: Richard Davis

Veterans & Military Support Chairman: Patrick Stark

VFW Lobbyist: Brad Whitmore

Voice of Democracy Chairman: Brad Whitmore

Youth Activities Chairman: David Lee